http://www.fixtheweb.net/ – Not sure.

http://www.fixtheweb.net/ – Not sure.

Ok, on the positive side.

  • More sites will become accessible (if the volunteers know what they are doing and the sites in question take on board and implement the changes).
  • Web accessibility awareness is raised a notch.
  • More developers may ultimately make less inaccessible sites (because the client may have an awareness).

Less positive.

  • This is someone’s job – some make a living making sure sites are accessible.
  • Therefore there are professionals to do this.
  • The industry has done ‘accessibility’ to death – why are there sites that still fail? (Answers on a very large postcard).

So should I say to my student’s; sign up, use you new skills to help others, develop your skills, gain valuable experience by volunteering?

Or should I say ‘be careful’, this is yet another organisation wanting your time from you for free?

A great idea? A great cause? I’ve been teaching accessible web design for nearly 15 years. Perhaps I should support it? Perhaps it’s my fault?

Posted in Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “http://www.fixtheweb.net/ – Not sure.

  1. Hi Richard,
    I lead Fix the Web and it was my idea so I guess the buck stops here!

    I just answered a blog on another site:
    http://thenerdary.net/articles/entry/accessibility_spec_work

    but its not moderated right now so I am guessing it will appear soon.

    Anyway, a very similar discussion taking place so I won’t repeat all the points again here just to save my typing!

    In short though, very happy to have discussions with anyone wanting to shape this project
    All the best
    gail

Leave a Reply

